1.1     ENBA Scope

The COST Action European Network Bioadhesion “ENBA” is a cooperation of all European academic and industrial researchers, interested to characterize and address the phenomena Bioadhesion at all scales. Experts from the different scientific fields and technical sectors aim:

  • to identify and characterize a wide range of bioadhesive systems, may it be the mucus of snails, the bonding principle of orchids or the bonding ability of tree frogs
  • to evaluate bonding properties and performance from macro- down to nano-scale from different perspectives (adhesive side, interphase, adherend side) and
  • to design artificial blueprints to test these principles in vitro

For more information about the Action please refer to:
Action’s MoU
Action Fact Sheet

1.2     Organisation of ENBA

The main decision-making body is the Management Committee (MC board), which is composed of up to two representatives of each COST Country. MC Members are nominated by the COST National Coordinators of the COST Countries. The MC coordinates the ENBA structure, defines its strategy and the organisation of networking activities, deals with budget relevant questions, agrees on invitations of additional participants and reports to COST. The main Action activities are organised into three Working Groups, each comprising of a mix of expert members with different academic background and disciplines.

The Executive Board (EB) manage and coordinate all initiatives such as MC and WG meetings, STSMs, Training Schools and other matters that may arise during the term of the Action. The EB is the central core of ENBA relevant for all requests, concerns, and problems of various parties from within and outside of this network.

1.3    Executive board members

Action Chair

Janek von Byern (Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Experimental and Clinical Traumatology, Austria) vByern@freenet.de

Vice Chair

Romana Santos (University of Lisbon, Portugal) romana.santos@campus.ul.pt

Grant Holder Institution

Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Experimental and Clinical Traumatology, Austria

All reimbursements or inquiries regarding reimbursements should be addressed to Janek von Byern.

Horizontal roles

Short Term Scientific Mission (STSM) Coordinator: Patrick Flammang (University of Mons, Belgium) Patrick.Flammang@umons.ac.be

Working group 1: Leader: Nicholas Aldred (Newcastle University United Kingdom) nicholas.aldred@ncl.ac.uk ; Vice-Leader: Dr. Claire Hellio (Université de Bretagne Occidentale, France) claire.hellio@univ-brest.fr

Working group 2: Leader: Seda Kizilel (Koç University, Turkey) skizilel@ku.edu.tr ; Vice-Leader: Päivi Laaksonen (Aalto Universit, Finland) paivi.laaksonen@aalto.fi

Working group 3: Leader: Anne Marie Power (National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland) annemarie.power@nuigalway.ie ; Vice-Leader: Romana Santos (University of Lisbon, Portugal) romana.santos@campus.ul.pt

Website Manager: Janek von Byern (Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Experimental and Clinical Traumatology, Austria)

Core Group
Chair, Vice-Chair, Grant Manager, STSM Coordinator, WG and Vice-Leaders

Scientific Officer from COST
Dr. Lucia Forzi lucia.forzi@cost.eu

Administrative Officer from COST
Svetlana Voinova svetlana.voinova@cost.eu

1.4  Management Committee

Austria

Sylvia Nürnberger (MC member)

Medical University of Vienna
Dept. of Traumalogy
1090 Vienna
Austria
Email: Sylvia.Nuernberger@meduniwien.ac.at
x
My research   Meine Forschung

Peter Ladurner (MC member)
University of Innsbruck
Institute of Zoology
6020 Innsbruck
Austria
Email: peter.ladurner@uibk.ac.at
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Ute Rothbächer (MC-substitute member)
Leopold Franzens Universitat Innsbruck
Dept. of Evolution and Developmental Biology
Zoological Institute
6020 Innsbruck
Austria
Email: Ute.Rothbaecher@uibk.ac.at
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Martina Marchetti-Deschmann (MC-substitute member)
Vienna University of Technology
1060 Vienna
Austria
Email:martina.marchetti-deschmann@tuwien.ac.at
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Janek von Byern (Action Chair)
Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Experimental and Clinical Traumatology
1200 Vienna
Austria
Email: vbyern@freenet.de
http://trauma.lbg.ac.at/de

My research   Meine Forschung

Belgium

Patrick Flammang (MC member)
Universite de Mons
7000 Mons
Belgium
Email:Patrick.Flammang@umons.ac.be
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Elise Hennebert (MC member)
University of Mons
7000 Mons
Belgium
Email:elise.hennebert@umons.ac.be
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Pedro Fardim (MC-substitute member)
KU Leuven
3001 Leuven
Belgium
Email:pedro.fardim@kuleuven.be
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Olivera Dolic (MC member)
University of Banja Luka
78000 Banja Luka
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Email:oliveradolicilic@gmail.com
xx

My research   Meine Forschung

Zeljka Kojic (MC member)
University of Banja Luka
78000 Banja Luka
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Email:zeljka.kojic@yahoo.com
xx

My research   Meine Forschung

Croatia

Bojan Hamer (MC member)
Ruder Boskovic Institute
52210 Rovinj
Croatia
Email:hamer@cim.irb.hr
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Davor Kovacevic (MC member)
University of Zagreb
10000 Zagreb
Croatia
Email:davor.kovacevic@chem.pmf.hr
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Branka Njegić Džakula (MC substitute member)
Ruđer Bošković Institute
10000 Zagreb
Croatia
Email:bnjeg@irb.hr
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Czech Republic

Michal Zurovec (MC member)
Biology Centre AS CR v.v.i.
37005 Ceske Budejovice
Czech Republic
Email:zurovec@entu.cas.cz
http://baloun.entu.cas.cz/zurovec/eng/index.html

My research  Meine Forschung

Nabanita Saha (MC member)
Tomas Bata University in Zlin
76001 Zlin
Czech Republic
Email:nabanita@ft.utb.cz
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Nibedita Saha (MC substitute member)
Tomas Bata University in Zlin
76001 Zlin
Czech Republic
Email:nibedita@uni.utb.cz
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Denmark

Henrik Birkedal (MC member)
Aarhus University
8000 Arhus
Denmark
Email:hbirkedal@chem.au.dk
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Fiona Linnea Bach-Gansmo (MC member)
Bioco Medico IVS
8000 Aarhus
Denmark
Email:info@bioco.dk
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Estonia

Rynno Lohmus (MC member)
University of Tartu
51014 Tartu
Estonia
Email:rynno.lohmus@ut.ee
https://www.fi.ut.ee/en

My research  Meine Forschung

Sergei Vlassov (MC member)
University of Tartu
51014 Tartu
Estonia
Email:sergei.vlassov@ut.ee
https://www.fi.ut.ee/en

My research  Meine Forschung

Finland

Markus Linder (MC member)
Aalto University
00076 Espoo
Finland
Email:markus.linder@aalto.fi
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Päivi Laaksonen (MC member)
Aalto University
00076 Espoo
Finland
Email:paivi.laaksonen@aalto.fi
X

My research  Meine Forschung

France

Dalal Werner (MC member)
Aerial
67400 Illkirch
France
Email:da.werner@aerial-crt.com
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Claire Hellio (MC member)
Université de Bretagne Occidentale
29280 Plouzane
France
Email:claire.hellio@univ-brest.fr
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Fabienne Guerard (MC substitute member)
University of Bretagne Occidentale
29280 Plouzane
France
Email:guerard@univ-brest.fr
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Germany

Dagmar Voigt (MC member)
Technische Universitat Dresden
01217 Dresden
Germany
Email:dagmar.voigt@tu-dresden.de
www.biofs.net

My research  Meine Forschung

Aranzazu del Campo (MC substitute member)
Leibniz Institut fur Neue Materialien
66123 Saarbrucken
Germany
Email:aranzazu.delcampo@leibniz-inm.de
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Stanislav Gorb (MC substitute member)
Christian Albrechts University of Kiel
24098 Kiel
Germany
Email:sgorb@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
http://www.uni-kiel.de/zoologie/gorb/sgorb.html

My research  Meine Forschung

Greece

Eleftheria Athanasiadou (MC member)
CHIMAR HELLAS SA
55131 Thessaloniki
Greece
Email:eathan@ari.gr
www.chimarhellas.com

My research  Meine Forschung

Hungary

Andras Dinnyes (MC member)
Biotalentum Ltd
2100 Godollo
Hungary
Email:andras.dinnyes@biotalentum.hu
www.biotalentum.eu

My research  Kutatásaink

Ireland

Anne Marie Power (MC member)
National University of Ireland Galway
000000 Galway
Ireland
Email:annemarie.power@nuigalway.ie
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Ramesh Babu (MC member)
Trinity College
002 Dublin
Ireland
Email:babup@tcd.ie
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Israel

Havazelet Bianco-Peled (MC member)
Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
3200003 Haifa
Israel
Email:bianco@tx.technion.ac.il
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Meir Haber (MC member)
Biota Ltd
30600 Or-Akiva
Israel
Email:meir@algawish.com
www.algawish.com ; https://www.linkedin.com/in/meir-haber-654bb06

My research  Meine Forschung

Hanna Dodiuk (MC substitute member)
Shenkar college
52526 Ramat Gan
Israel
Email:hannad@shenkar.ac.il
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Alejandro Sosnik (MC substitute member)
Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
32000 Haifa
Israel
Email:alesosnik@gmail.com
http://materials.faculty-ms.technion.ac.il/laboratory-of-pharmaceutical-nanomaterial-science/

My research  Meine Forschung

Italy

Nicola Pugno (MC member)
University of Trento
38123 Trento
Italy
Email:nicola.pugno@unitn.it
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Marco Faimali (MC member)
UOS Genova (ISMAR-GE)
16149 Genova
Italy
Email:marco.faimali@ismar.cnr.it
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Federico Bosia (MC substitute member)
Universita di Torino
10125 Torino
Italy
Email:fbosia@unito.it
http://www.solid.unito.it/

My research  Meine Forschung

Silvia Marchesan (MC substitute member)
University of Trieste
34127 Trieste
Italy
Email:smarchesan@units.it
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Latvia

Boriss Polakovs (MC member)
University of Latvia
1063 Riga
Latvia
Email:boris.polyakov@cfi.lu.lv
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Arita Dubnika (MC member)
Riga Technical University
1658 Riga
Latvia
Email:arita.dubnika@rtu.lv
http://rbiac.rtu.lv/en

My research  Meine Forschung

Jelena Butikova (MC substitute member)
University of Latvia
1063 Riga
Latvia
Email:but@latnet.lv
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Mara Grube (MC substitute member)
University of Latvia
1004 Riga
Latvia
Email:grube@lu.lv
https://www.lu.lv/mbi/groups/laboratory-of-environmental-microbiology/ftir/

My research  Meine Forschung

Malta

Anna McElhatton (MC member)
University of Malta
2090 Msida
Malta
Email:anna.mcelhatton@um.edu.mt
www.um.edu.mt/healthsciences

My research  Meine Forschung

Josette Camilleri (MC member)
University of Malta
2090 Msida
Malta
Email:josette.camilleri@um.edu.mt
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Netherlands

Marleen Kamperman (MC member)
Wageningen University
6700 EK Wageningen
Netherlands
Email:marleen.kamperman@wur.nl
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Norway

Marianne Hiorth (MC member)
University of Oslo
0316 Oslo
Norway
Email:marianne.hiorth@farmasi.uio.no
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Ingunn Tho (MC member)
University of Oslo
0316 Oslo
Norway
Email:ingunn.tho@farmasi.uio.no
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Poland

Alina Sionkowska (MC member)
Nicolaus Copernicus University in Torun
87-100 Torun
Poland
Email:as@chem.umk.pl
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Tomasz Krystofiak (MC member)
Poznan University of Life Sciences
60637 Poznan
Poland
Email:tomkrys@up.poznan.pl
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Portugal

Romana Santos (MC member)
Science Faculty of the University of Lisbon
1749-016 Lisboa
Portugal
Email:romana.santos@campus.ul.pt
http://romanasantos.wix.com/biomimetic-adhesive

My research  A minha investigação

Joao Mano (MC member)
University of Aveiro
3810-193 Aveiro
Portugal
Email:jmano@ua.pt
X

My research  A minha investigação

Catarina Reis (MC substitute member)
Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias
1749-024 Lisboa
Portugal
Email:catarinapintoreis@gmail.com

My research  A minha investigação

Ana Viana (MC substitute member)
X
X
Portugal
Email:apsemedo@fc.ul.pt
X

My research  A minha investigação

Romania

Gabriel Furtos (MC member)
Babes-Bolyai University
400294 CLUJ-NAPOCA
Romania
Email:gfurtos@yahoo.co.uk
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Luminita Nica (MC member)
Victor Babes University of Medicine and Pharmacy Timisoara
300 070 Timisoara
Romania
Email:luminita.nica98@yahoo.ro
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Serbia

Jaroslav Katona (MC member)
Faculty of Technology Novi Sad
21000 Novi Sad
Serbia
Email:jkatona@uns.ac.rs
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Lidija Petrovic (MC substitute member)
Faculty of Technology Novi Sad
21000 Novi Sad
Serbia
Email:lidijap@uns.ac.rs
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Slovakia

Robert Farkas (MC member)
Slovak Academy of Sciences
84508 Bratilsava
Slovakia
Email:ueenfark@savba.sk
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Jan Sedliacik (MC member)
Technical University in Zvolen
96053 Zvolen
Slovakia
Email:jan.sedliacik@tuzvo.sk
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Slovenia

Urska Vrabic Brodnjak (MC member)
University of Ljubljana
1000 Ljubljana
Slovenia
Email:urska.vrabic@ntf.uni-lj.si
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Tomaz Pepelnjak (MC member)
University of Ljubljana
1000 Ljubljana
Slovenia
Email:tomaz.pepelnjak@fs.uni-lj.si
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Lidija Fras Zemljic (MC substitute member)
University Maribor
2212 Maribor
Slovenia
Email:lidija.fras@um.si
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Spain

Eduard Correal Modol (MC member)
Forest Sciences Centre of Catalonia
25003 Lleida
Spain
Email:eduard.correal@incafust.cat
http://www.ctfc.cat

My research  Mi investigación

Jose Miguel Martin-Martinez (MC member)
University of Alicante
03080 Alicante
Spain
Email:jm.martin@ua.es
https://web.ua.es/en/laa/index.htm

My research   Mi investigación

Jose M. Palomo (MC substitute member)
Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas
28049 Madrid
Spain
Email:josempalomo@icp.csic.es
http://www.icp.csic.es/biocatalisis/web3/Palomoweb/uusframe/Home.html

My research   Mi investigación

Jalel Labidi (MC substitute member)
X
X
Spain
Email:jalel.labidi@ehu.es
X

My research   Mi investigación

Daniel Ruiz-Molina (MC substitute member)
ICN2 – Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Madrid
Spain
Email:dani.ruiz@cin2.es
http://icn2.cat/en/nanostructured-functional-materials-group

My research   Mi investigación

Sweden

Karl Mattias Berglin (MC member)
SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden
501 15 Boras
Sweden
Email:mattias.berglin@sp.se
www.ri.se

My research  Meine Forschung

Thomas Ederth (MC member)
Linkoping University
58183 Linkoping
Sweden
Email:ted@ifm.liu.se
https://liu.se/en/employee/thoed88

My research  Meine Forschung

Switzerland

Giovanni M. Pavan (MC member)
University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Southern Switzerland
6828 Manno
Switzerland
Email:giovanni.pavan@supsi.ch
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Turkey

Ebru Toksoy Oner (MC member)
Marmara University
34722 Istanbul
Turkey
Email:ebrutoksoyoner@gmail.com
http://ibsb.bioe.eng.marmara.edu.tr

My research  Meine Forschung

Seda Kizilel (MC member)
KOC University
34450 Istanbul
Turkey
Email:skizilel@ku.edu.tr
http://home.ku.edu.tr/~skizilel/

My research  Meine Forschung

Urartu Ozgur Safak Seker (MC substitute member)
Bilkent University
06800 Ankara
Turkey
Email:urartu@bilkent.edu.tr
http://139.179.38.31/lifesci/wordpress/

My research  Meine Forschung

United Kingdom

Nicholas Aldred (MC member)
Newcastle University
NE1 7RU Newcastle upon Tyne
United Kingdom
Email:nicholas.aldred@ncl.ac.uk
https://research.ncl.ac.uk/biofouling/

My research

Simone Dimartino (MC member)
The University  of Edinburgh
EH9 3JL Edinburgh
United Kingdom
Email:Simone.Dimartino@ed.ac.uk
https://www.eng.ed.ac.uk/about/people/dr-simone-dimartino

My research

Feodor Borodich (MC substitute member)
Cardiff University
CF24 3AA Cardiff
United Kingdom
Email:borodichfm@cardiff.ac.uk
X

My research  Meine Forschung

Joshua Boateng (MC substitute member)
University of Greenwich
ME4 4TB Chatham
United Kingdom
Email:j.s.boateng@greenwich.ac.uk
X

My research  Meine Forschung

1.5  COST Near Neighbour Countries

Ukraine

Pavlo Bekhta (MC observer)
Ukrainian National Forestry University
79057 Lviv
Ukraine
Email:bekhta@ukr.net
X

My research  Meine Forschung

1.6  COST International Partner Countries

Australia

David Merritt (MC observer)
University of Queensland, Brisbane
Brisbane
Australia
Email:d.merritt@uq.edu.au
www.dmerritt.net.au/LabWeb/LabWeb/Home.html

My research  Meine Forschung

Japan

Victor Benno Meyer-Rochow (MC observer)
Research Institute for Luminous Organisms: Hachijo
Hachijojima
Japan
Email:meyrow@gmail.com
www.meyer-rochow.com

My research  Meine Forschung